T Nation

Cutting Workout

Hey Guys, I need some help figuring out a good cutting routine. I’m not necessarily a total beginner, but I haven’t been able to reach my goal (8% bodyfat) since I started training 4 years ago. I’m looking for a 4- day workout Monday- Thursday since I bartend friday and saturday and rest on sunday (since I’m usually wiped out from the weekend) I’m 190, 5’10" and currently taking in around 1500-1600 calories on non- workout days and 1800-2200 on workout days. I’m also planning on doing 45 min steady state cardio after every workout, with workouts lasting about 45 min as well. (I workout in the evening by the way)

Check out the Conditioning section.

More diet info needed.

Good cutting program = good diet.

Youre starving yourself. Putting yourself in starvation mode is the fastest way to stall fat loss

Any suggestions on diet?

I followed some advice from T-Mag issue 640 to figure out my calories:
First you gotta figure out your maintenance caloric intake.
Here’s the rough guide I use:

Current Body Fat Caloric Intake

6%-12% 17 calories per pound of LBM (Lean Body Mass)
12%-15% 16 calories per pound of LBM
15.1%-19% 15 calories per pound of LBM
19.1%-22% 14 calories per pound of LBM
22.1% or above 13 calories per pound of LBM

So you find out your body fat percentage and then multiple your weight by that percent.
Subtract that number from your weight to find out your lean mass, and then use that number
and your body fat percentage to determine your calories.

Here’s an example. Let’s say we have a guy named Dave who is 185 pounds at 15 percent body fat.
First, we figure out how much fat he has on his body: 185 x .15 = 27.75.
We subtract that from his weight (185 â?? 27.75) and arrive at 157.25 pounds. That’s Dave’s lean body mass.