T Nation

Cutting Weight for Sports While on AAS

Hey guys,

Wanted to get input from those that have done this.

I'm cutting weight for a powerlifting meet three weeks from now. As of right now, I'm at 232 and want to compete at 220, with a 24 hour weigh in. Currently running 400mg Test Prop / 400mg Tren Ace a week. I'll be throwing in 60mg of Winny a day in the last week and a half, since I have some sitting around.

There's two pieces here:
1. Dropping some body fat while maintaining lean mass. I'm already quite lean, but I could stand to shave a % or two of body fat. I've never done this while on AAS before. My maintenance diet is about 250/250/100 (carb/pro/fat) all from clean sources and whole food (no protein powder to artificially bump up total protein numbers). To cut weight I generally keep it simple and just move towards 200/250/50 (training days) and 50/250/50 (off days). I'd expect that would work fine while on AAS too, and that being on will just mean I hold more LBM than I would naturally, and probably drop fat faster than I would naturally. Does that sound right? Any other considerations here.

1. Water cut. I feel like there's two new variables here: aromitizing steroid dosages, AI dosage. I'd think that if estradiol is at 20 pg/nl, there's no reason to change dosage for either of those. I'd just do a water load/sodium and carb depletion water cut as normal, with nothing special. Any gotchas here?

Thanks!

Are you taking any aromatase inhibitors like adex? Even though the compounds you are taking are relatively low for bloating/ water retention, an AI will also help dry you out.