Cutting Hands on DL - Staph Infections

i have been deadlifting for several years now and have built up pretty good calluses on my hands from doing so. i never have worn gloves or used straps on deads, but instead use a hook grip with lifting chalk. recently, i have been cutting my hands open while deadlifting, causing my hands to bleed. i train at a public gym and i am very concerned about contracting serious diseases such as staph infections.

any recommendations on what i should do? should i wear gloves or use straps? it’s not my calluses that are bleeding, it’s my fingertips(thumbs) from the hook grip. i think i might use straps only for deads now. my grip is pretty strong and want to use straps to protect my health(prevent cuts.)

reading all this info on people contracting staph at the gym has made me paranoid. i got so freaked out today that i left the gym before finishing my workout.

i am considering using straps or batting/wide receiver gloves(i need the finger tips.)maybe i should try taping my thumbs up.

I have alot of calluses from work/gym and have always found that sanding them down with a nail file and moisturizing works wonders especially when workoing outside all winter.

[quote]Psicks wrote:
I have alot of calluses from work/gym and have always found that sanding them down with a nail file and moisturizing works wonders especially when workoing outside all winter.[/quote]

Using a pumice stone or something similar will help to an extent, but straps would eliminate the problem completely. JMO

Yeah mate, change your grip or use straps. Staff is very common and can be found on peoples skin but only causes infection when it gets in cuts/eyes/nose.
I’m not the kind of person to fret about this stuff, but I guess it is better safe then sorrry.