T Nation

Cutting Down

Hi i'm new to T-Nation, I used to go on another site and took in a lot of bs and got to the point where I'm at because of it and a few other dumb pieces of advise but anyways I'm here and these articles and forums look like they'd do me a lot more good.

Im 5'11 at 183 pounds, 18% bf. I used to be 172 pounds 12% bf but due to medical problems, and then the bulking up advise where I was told to eat as much protein and carbs as I could basically gain a bunch of weight and then cut it down i ended up gaining a lot more fat than muscle.

I decided now to cut down to 10% body fat and then slowly gain the muscle weight, but I'm confused about to macros, and how much i'm supposed to be taking in. I have some lagging parts (e.g lower chest, and upper chest need more work, lats are too high).

I was thinking of a workout program like this (I have big shoulders genetically idk why they are 50 inches while chest is 40 inches, I don't need a shoulder day in my opinion) with 4 sets of 3-5 reps and switch the next week to 4 sets of 10-12 reps. Any feedback would be great thanks.

(HIIT 3 times a week)
Mon:chest
Tue:back
Wed:rest
Thu:chest
Fri:legs
Sat:arms
Sun:back

http://www.T-Nation.com/free_online_article/sports_body_training_performance/the_truth_about_bulking

My 2 cents:

1- find a training program on this site that you like. Do that. Don’t try to make your own. You are new. You know that you don’t know, right? Maybe TBT?

2- read the 7 habits of highly effective meal plans (or whatever it is called) by Bernardi …make sure you are doing that. Then ask more questions about diets.

3- you are 20. Don’t worry about cutting per se. Learn about nutrition and start to figure out what works for you. If you want to drop some bf, that’s fine. But IMO you should be thinking about strength and athleticism primarily.

My 2cents

I completely agree with the post above, great advice.