T Nation

Cutting Before Bulking?

Okay let me introduce myself. i’m asian and i’m 16 years old currently. i was always quite fat since young and i started training(though not the proper way) since 14, and recently just managed to get myself right with a good split and a training system i like.

i’ve been doing this split for about 3 months
monday - chest/arm
tuesday - legs
wednesday - rest
thursday - back(thickness)/tricep
friday- rest
saturday - back(width)

the reps and sets are simple. my biggest mistake in the past was to program hop, and this time i’ve stuck to this scheme pretty well. for everyday bodypart i’ll do an exercise ramping up and a all-out set of 4-6reps(for the compounds like deadlifts and dips) and 8-12reps(for the smaller muscle groups like lateral raises and curls). i’ve managed to increased my weight every session.

i’ve just read Dan John’s article http://www.T-Nation.com/testosterone-magazine-638?s=indexTitle#tips-to-get-more-mass and under tip #3 it said to lean out before going for mass. now this has been bugging me a LONG time(i’m 5’11 and 230lbs, estimating 25% body fat) and i’ve always wondered if i should lean out first,maybe lower it to just visible abs before i start gaining some mass again, or should i just hit it as hard as i can and bulk up now.

i’ve always had the idea to bulk up but this has been at the back of my head for a long time. since this article came up i’ve been wondering whether i should lean up now

Note: the rep/set schemes are similiar to the ones in bodybuilding bible and worked well, so the question is should i continue to pile on some weight to my lifts and risk getting fatter( i’m kinda soft) or should i lean up now and then focus on building mass. i’m in a dilemma now :frowning: hope you guys can help me.