Current Job Market for People

I’m a college student who will be graduating within the year. My buddy just complained about the trouble he’s had in the job market. He graduated in august of last year, had a 3.5 average, and has work experience. But he’s had trouble finding jobs in his field and he also said he didn’t do any interns. Any words of advice before I graduate and go into the real world.

I graduate next Saturday and secured a job to start at the end of May. I have 2 years part time experience in my field.

Is your degree in something that can be applied?

My degree is Business Management, but I need to find a decent minor( I was a Phys Ed Major and switched two years in). I want to become a Human Resource manager, but willing to adapt to whatever job I can get.

We were talking about this in my finance class. Some of the kids were saying how they can’t even get summer internships after appling to dozens of places and they have high GPAs. Some know friends who are graduating and can’t get a job. GE and UTC won’t even look at you unless you have a 3.7

I guess my 2.5 ain’t going to me shit, ha. Back to the warehouse probably.

I just got a job yesterday, in a field in which I had no experience. BUT, I’ve had to spend the last few months looking, and I’ve talked and talked and talked to people, in addition to all the resumes I sent out. In the end I got just as many interviews with companies from talking to people as I did from sending resumes. The job I ended up getting, I was probably only interviewed because I knew someone, but I do feel that I handled the interview well.

I dotn know if the above counts as helpful advice (but I just wanted to share that I just got a job after months of looking anyway) but if not, I’d say buckle up and strap in, cuz you might be looking for a while.