T Nation

Curling More Than I Can Squat

http://www.magnus-samuelsson.net/en/default.asp?view=images&ViewImage=training/Training_03.jpg

WTF???

http://images.t-nation.com/forum_images/./1/.1107658409809.curl.jpg

Might as well just post the picture.

yep. I used to watch these guys in the Worlds Strongest Man competitions. This guy was allways a frontrunner. Alot of these Nordic viking guts were absolute beasts. The comps. were usualy televised on sunday afternoons on ESPN or one of those sports channels.

photoshop

I’m no expert on bumper plates, but it looks like he’s curling around 220. That’s a lot of weight, but I don’t think it’s impossible.

But I could be wrong.

With bumper plates the large ones arent necasserily 45pounds, they can be as low as 20…
I would agree that a 405lb is beyond my belief tolerance… but this could be as low as 200 I guess…

[quote]oboffill wrote:
photoshop[/quote]

Troll?

That’s one of the last people in world who needs to photoshop pics to impress people.

Keep in mind those are pretty obviously bumper plates… So needless to say he’s curling a lot less than “4 plates”. Hell that could be ~135lbs. if those are all 5kg bumpers, although I’m sure Magnuss curls more than that. I’m guessing it’s 2 5s and 6 10s, or about 200lbs, but you really can’t tell. Too bad the plates aren’t color-coded.

Nick

That strong dude is from my country sweden and im so proud of him!

Okay, so these are bumper plates so we can’t really know the weight. But let’s speculate what Magnus could cheat curl/ power curl.
Couldn’t Arnold cheat curl around 275 at a weight of around 240? Magnus must weigh in the low 300s and while it is possible Arnold could strict-curl more Magnus is clearly stronger in the back, legs, etc.
A lot of throwers (discus etc.) swear by the power curl as a core exercise. If any throwers out there could supply their ratios of power curl to, say, power clean we could get a closer idea to what Magnus might be able to do.