T Nation

Cure for Recurring Hamstring Injuries?

It has been ten years since I first hurt my left hamstring playing rugby. At the time (law school), I'd never pulled a hammy. I still have never pulled my right hammy, but in the years since I pulled the left one, I seem to get another pull or strain every couple of years. The most recent one was running playing slow pitch softball. If it matters, my left hip and IT band are consistently tighter than my right.

Aside from warming up, foam and/or lacrosse ball rolling and stretching, is there anything I can do to "fix" my hamstring? Or having once pulled it am I always going to be more likely to pull it again?

Hamstring tears seem to have a pretty high rate of recurrence don't they? Your not alone, in fact, I am currently helping out a friend (I am a student of Nutrition and Exercise Science) who is doing his PHD with his research centred on hamstring tears. His hypothesis is that there are actually permanent neural inhibitions which contribute to the negative trends in the force-length curve.

The force length curve is a line graph of the relationship between the force the muscle is capable of producing at various lengths, and research indicates that after hamstring tear, the curve shifts to the left, showing that the muscle is weaker at longer lengths. This seems to be the key to effective rehabilitation and prevention for future re-injuries. Obviously, the study is still underway but here's what the current research tends to show.

First of all, flexibility training does not reduce risks (contrary to popular belief). It seems that eccentrically biased training can actually produce the best benefits to prevent hamstring tears and heres why: