T Nation

CT's Low Carb PWO on a Budget

im looking into CT's low carb pwo drink but it seems a bit pricey. so i was thinking just going with the creatine(5g),bcaa(12 tabs),and leucine(5g), and maybe L-glutamine from gnc.

i read he also had glycine but im on a budget, would this get the job done?

i just got my bottle of l leucine and Biotest bcaa. on the bcaa bottle it says to take 18 para traing, but Thib suggests 5 pre and 20 during with none post. arent bcaas needed post workout?

[quote]talon2nr7588 wrote:
im looking into CT’s low carb pwo drink but it seems a bit pricey. so i was thinking just going with the creatine(5g),bcaa(12 tabs),and leucine(5g), and maybe L-glutamine from gnc.

i read he also had glycine but im on a budget, would this get the job done?[/quote]

I have been using Surge since October of 2004. I used it both times I was on the Velocity Diet. Some people swear by it and some don’t. I tweaked and changed my peri shake until I got it just like I like it. I have two formulas depending on goals and work load. I sip it in the car on the way to the gym (only two miles from my house), continue sipping it during my workout, then when I am finished I add one scoop creatine and slam what is left which is usually about eight ounces.

“Regular”
24 ounces of cold water
Two scoops of Surge
Two scoops of 100% Whey
One scoop of Superfood

“All out”
32 ounces of cold water
Three scoops of Surge
Two scoops of 100% Whey
One scoop of Superfood

I started adding the 100% whey based on a suggestion from Thib and liked the results and have kept doing it ever since.

It seems like the money you spend on putting yours together could be used for Surge. However I will give my opinion on your question but please keep in mind it is just that and I am not an expert.