CT and Others: Squats In The Beginning...

CT:

If you were faced with a young, HEALTHY absolute beginner (which I currently am!). They have NO training experience, but are otherwise totally healthy.

Their strength is poor; they have “chicken” legs…and as you are evaluting them, they can’t even perform a MINIMAL squat without their trunk moving forward and their heels rising…

1)Where are beginners USUALLY weak in these scenarios?

2)What would be your step-by-step process for working them up to full, “butt-to-grass” squats?

Thanks!

Mufasa

I am not CT(obviously) but from seeing friends who have never done free-weight squats before they generally have stabalization issues. These issues seem to be related to weaknesses in there core.(lower back, abs, hip flexors)

Focusing on there core definitly helped them improve there squatting.

It may not be an issue of weakness, it may be an issue of flexibility. Have them stretch their glutes, hammies, and CALVES. Then teach them to overhead sqaut. After that, back squats become second nature. After all, if you’re starting from scratch, you may as well do it right the first time around.

Here’s what I would do:

4-6 weeks Peterson step ups. Hyperextensions and seated good mornings to strength the spinal erectors. Work on hip, hamstring and calf flexibility. Low to moderate intensity, higher volume and higher reps.

4-6 of Squats with heels elevated,standing good mornings moderate intensity, 6-8 reps for moderate to high volume. Continue to work on flexiblity in lower body.

By now, their squat form should be up to par. If not, I would use box squats with thin mats covering the box. Have them squat down till their glutes hit the box and then have them flex off the box. Remove one of the mats and have them repeat until either their form breaks down or voila they’re full squating.

BTW, you may want to do the squating and hamstring work on separate days.