T Nation

CSCS Test?

I was a little unsure where to place this post, but I am contemplating testing for my CSCS. I do have a degree, but it is not in Strength and Conditioning or E.S. However, I consider myself to be well read and have surrounded myself with intelligent trainers. Unfortunately, I have taken only two semesters of anatomy and physiology in college.

Can anyone offer a little advice on what would prepare me for this test, or tell me I’m crazy for thinking I can even pass the test?

I have a BS in engineering with no prior formal anatomy education and I’m doing just fine studying for it. The NSCA has packages of study materials, available on their website, to assist you in test prep. They are pricy but were worth it for me since I have no background in the area. They may be worth it for you, too, because their “right way” is not always consistent with what I have learned through years of gym experience and informal study. Nevertheless, their “right way” is undoubtedly what will be on the exam.

At the least, I would suggest the Fundamentals text and a few practice exams to get a feel for the material and to get a read on where you’re at in terms of knowledge.

Hope that helps.

you’re not crazy for thinking you can pass it.

but i would read the book a few times, and really brush up on your anatomy and physiology.

wish I had taken the test right out of college, now 2.5 yrs later, i’m sure there’s plenty I would miss on the physiology part that really doesn’t matter when it comes to training people.

good luck, like mentioned get the study materials and put in the time. at least you’re allowed a re-test so don’t put too much pressure on yourself.

is there a reason you’re going for the CSCS, besides it being one the most highly respected?
if you’re worried about it, you could just take their CPT one, unless you plan on working specifically with athletes, then the CSCS is the way to go.