CSCS Certification

I wasn’t quite sure where to put this, but the off-topic forum seems to get the most traffic on other boards I frequent. If this should be somewhere else, feel free to move it.

Anyways, I’ve got grand ideas of getting CSCS certified, but my degree is not in ANYTHING health and fitness related. Like a lot of the Tmuscle readers, I have a lot of great real-world knowledge and experience, but I have NO classroom education. I’ve read through the text book and the A&P sections are what give me the most troubles. I understand everything as I read through it, but I can’t retain anything for some reason.

So, have any of you done something similar? What material helped you get ready for it? Did you spend the money on the practice exams they sell? Would it be “easier” to take a couple A&P classes online through a college?

Thanks!

The key to memorization is not repeated exposure as some people think, but rather repeated testing - you’ve got to try to “make” yourself remember facts (such as A&P) over and over again, even when you can’t recall those facts, to really get it to stick. My biology professor who gave regular quizzes (that weren’t even for credit/grades) yielded students with MUCH higher knowledge retention and test scores than the profs who just lectured and gave a few tests.

He shared with me a neuro journal article that substantiated this method - I’ll try to find it if you are interested.

What I learned from this is that flashcards are an excellent way to learn (and retain) a lot of facts quickly. Don’t bother making them yourself, thats wasted time that you could be drilling. I suggest A&P cards make for medical students, then take your textbook and sort out all the cards that are relevant to the learning objectives you will be tested on.