Crossfit Certification.

I am a personal trainer with several certifications including the CSCS, NSCA-CPT, and NASM-CPT.

I’m 30 years old and used to work as a computer repairman before I went back to school, got my exercise science degree and got my first personal trainer certification a few years ago. I have been getting a little sick of working 12 hours a day in the corporate gym setting. I have trying to apply for some strength coach internships but most of them require a master’s degree.

Another option I was considering was eventually becoming a self-proprietor and opening up my own personal training business. However, I know that to be successful I will probably need some sort of brand recognition.
I don’t “do crossfit” but from what I understand it seems to be a form of HIIT training combined with olympic lifts. Why anyone would want to do high volume Olympic lifts is beyond me but the point is that it seems to be extremely popular, almost all of my clients have asked me about it.

I was thinking about becoming Crossfit Certified so I could have a credential that the general population recognizes and respects. I don’t plan on actually incorporating Crossfit into any client’s programming (unless they specifically request it) but just having it I think would be good for business.

I was looking at the price of the certification, 1000 dollars! Plus the certification doesn’t have any pre-requisites. No high school diploma or even a CPR is needed which I think is a bit disturbing.

Nevertheless, has anyone taken the certification course? How long does the certification last until it needs renewal? Do you need to accumulate CEUs for it? What was the test like in terms of content and difficulty? Is there any take at home study material or is it all on site?

Thanks.

[quote]Madtytecurls wrote:

the price of the certification, 1000 dollars! [/quote]

yeah…