T Nation

CRO's Juggernaut Training Log

Male, 33y/o, 6’0", ~215lbs. I’ve been lifting casually over the past 3 years or so - began with P90X/dumbbells and cardio then transitioned to barbell training w/starting strength. Doing SS I gained about 25lbs and lost significant work capacity over six months just lifting 3x/week and doing basically zero conditioning or assistance work. So I then wrote and followed my own 4-day program w/some conditioning and progressed weekly until I just got burnt out hitting max weights every session 4x/week. I’m looking to get stronger (general strength, not powerlifting specific) but still be in good shape. I’m a husband/father of 3 and I’m trying to be strong for my family and of course avoid the typical dad bod. I’m an engineer and I spend most of my work week in an office at a computer so minimal calories are burned throughout the day. My kids are all young and I like to spend time with them when I get home so I have to work-out at home early in the morning before heading to work or it just won’t happen.

After reading seemingly hundreds of articles and watching many video reviews, I’ve decided to run the original Juggernaut method. This program meets most of the criteria I was looking for… 4-day/week lifting schedule, includes overhead pressing, encourages conditioning work, ~60 minute sessions, various rep ranges, performance based progression, etc. The 16-week commitment is a little daunting though and may be difficult to follow since I have to travel occasionally for work (usually for a week at a time) and with a family of 5, getting sick is inevitable. Thankfully, I’m just getting over a cold and the weather is slowly starting to warm-up here in Alabama so maybe I’ll be healthy for a while.

My most recent 1RM’s were set during the last 4 days of 2019 (6 weeks ago) and are as follows:
OHP: 135lb https://youtu.be/iZSseLlXcR8
Squat: 285lb https://youtu.be/O7uyGGgQNAI
Bench: 180lb https://youtu.be/iiQSyaBOSlc