T Nation

Critique My Workout

Hi,

I have been training at a small gym in my hometown for three months now on a full body program that the gym owner set up for me. My goal is to build muscle. Now he is putting me on a 4 day body part split. I have learnt a lot by reading through T-Nation the past few months and I was wondering what you guys would think of the new program.

(all sets are 3 x 10-12

Day 1: Incline bench
Incline flys
Flat bench
Chest flys (using machine)
Dips

Day 2: Lat pulldowns
Bent over BB rows
Pullups
One arm rows
Deadlifts

Day 3: Rest

Day 4: Military presses
DB side laterals
Upright rows
Reverse rows

Day 5: Rest

Day 6: (squat rack is on way so this workout will be changed when squats are availabe)

Leg press wide stance
   Leg Extensions
   DB lunges
   Leg curls
   Leg press close stance

Day 7: Rest

Thanks,

In my honest opinion your day 2 (back workout day) is slightly too taxing on the nervous system. Take away the 1 arm rows or lat pulldowns.

What about your traps? Maybe throw in some heavy shrugging somewhere? I would take away the reverse rows and just have you do heavy shrugs.

On the legday I would incorporate straight leg deadlift, instead of 1 leg-press movement. That way your hams get hit harder. At the moment your leg day is quite quad dominant.

But that's just my opinion.

Thanks I appreciate your advice.

Will taking away the reverse rows mean that im not hitting my rear delts hard enough though?

I think you are hitting them just fine with the BB rowing on a back day.

If you feel like your rear delts are not getting enough work, throw in a superset with face-pulls. A great movement.

who set that up? that is not good.

look at chest day for instance: