Critique My Workout Please

Hi,

Im new to this web site, and find it very helpful so far.
For my first post I’ll keep it pretty simple.
Im 5’11", 200lbs, and bit of body fat tucked away : ).

I work out on a five day split:

Day 1: Chest
Day 2: Back
Day 3: Arms (Triceps & Biceps)
Day 4: Legs
Day 5: Shoulders & Traps

I try to do 4 sets of given exersice (about 4-6 exercised per body part) 12, 10, 8 & 6 reps, increasing the weight on each.

I just wanted to know what you guys think and if need be,
I’ll go into a bit more detail.

P.S. Which one of the above days would be best for dead lifts.

Thx

Are you new to lifting? or just new to the site ? If your new to lifting Total Body Training is the way to go. We would need more details to tell you if the program is a good one, and also what are your goals. I would recommend a higher frequency split, Maybe push/pull/legs or something similar if you don’t like full body workouts. Lastly, if your going to stick with what you have down deadlifts should be done on leg day if your form is on you should be lifting the bar with your legs and not your back although either one would probably work since they are spread apart on your program.

No, not new to body building, but coming back after a longer break, other things in life got in the way.

I work on a five day split due to the fact that I need the rest (dont sleep alot), dont want to over train.

The routine I stated above got me to 18" biceps in the past, so I thought it wasn’t bad.

For now I will be trying to bulk up a little more, and eventually cut up.

chest: Flat bench, incline, dumbell flys and presses, and some cable work

back: cable rows, lat pulls, barbell rows, single arm dumbell rows, and …(insert suggestions)…whatever I decide to throw in the mix

biceps & triceps: standard stuff, no magic here, never had a problem getting strenght and size on my arms.

legs: squats, leg presses, extensions, curls, cavs, and now dead lifts.