Critique My Power Clean!

Hi guys,

I’ve just started incorporating Oly lifts into my program and I am in need of some critique. I want to master the power clean first and foremost and would appreciate any constructive feedback (negative or positive) I can get. Here’s a link to my video… Power Cleans - YouTube

Thanks!

ass down a bit lower at the start would be the only thing i see wrong with it

looks pretty solid to me

Thanks Kudos… I appreciate it!

Looks like you’ve got an early arm bend going there. You should be really sore in your traps and not so sore in your arms after a heavy powerclean workout. You can probably do more weight because of the early bend, but the technique isn’t correct. Eventually if you work on it with the right form your numbers will go up a lot. I’d say drop the weight to a point where you don’t even have to move your arms to get the weight up and go from there. Concentrate on the full shrug/tip-toe extension and the popping of the hips.
I’m no expert, so if anyone else wants to chime in that’d probably be a good thing.

im definately not an expert, but it looks like your using your arms to much, when i clean i jerk the weight of the floor and then drop my ass as low as possible to get under it and catch it, i hardly use my arms at all.

Yeah, these guys are right about using your arms. Think of your arms like ropes during the lifts. You don’t want them bending during the pull. Looks like you are doing the lift in slow motion. As the weight passes the knees you have to aggressively drive those hips forward and shrug. It will come with practice.

You are off to a good start though. Remember, don’t try to max out yet. Just drill the lifts with submax weights, over and over…

Oh, and make sure that during the part of the lift from the floor to about knee height, your back keeps the same angle from the floor. When you start the lift, instead of thinking “lift the weight”, think “push through the floor”.

Great advice guys… I’ll work on it!