Critique My Diet & Workout?

Hey, all,

New member here hoping to get some advice on my current regimen. The good, bad, and ugly.

A little backhistory: I’m 26, 175 lbs. @ 5’8" with a fair amount of flub around my midsection. My goals are to decrease fat and increase muscle mass. I’d be happy to be a fairly ripped, fit, and strong 160 or so.

My situation is a little complicated by the fact that I have an (as yet undiagnosed) sleep disorder that prevents me from getting restorative sleep. Obviously, this hinders my energy output and muscle recovery to a large degree, but at the same time, I’m not just willing to sit and decompose. And at some point, I hope things will improve on that front.

I started lifting ten weeks ago and am sticking with a 2x/week program of extremely basic exercises. I plan on expanding my effort once the sleep situation is under control.

Diet is still confounding to me, although I’m trying to follow some basic principles: eat lots of protein and drink lots of water.

Here’s what I’m eating…

Breakfast
3 Slices Whole Wheat Toast W/Peanut Butter (470 calories, 20g protein)
One Banana (100 cals)

Lunch
Pasta, Pizza, Sandwich, Etc…my “Cheat” meal
(500 cals, 20-30g protein)

Afternoon
Met-Rx Shake
(500 cals, 60g protein)

Dinner
Chicken Breast or Tuna on Lettice Bed W/Oil and Vinegar
(400 cals, 35g protein)

Late Night
Protein Bar/Peanut Butter Sandwich on Whole Wheat/Cereal
(200-400 cals, 20-30g protein)

As you can see, on one of my five meals, I don’t adhere to a strict policy…I’ve eaten like a pig for most of my life, and it would be too radical at this point to eat five perfect meals out of the day, so I settle for four. I also supplement with Creatine (2.5 g/day) and drink about 2.5 liters of water. No soda, but usually a decaf coffee with breakfast.

I’m getting an average of 2,200 calories or so a day and a good amount of protein: 150g or so.

For my workouts, I perform three sets of 12/10/8. When I do this comfortably, I add weight.