Critique My Deadlift

I’ve been deadlifting for a couple of months doing Starting Strength program. Below is my current 1x5 reps x 100kg deadlift.

A few things I noticed: 1) My back rounded a bit; 2)Need to work on lockout at the top; 3) The grip is terribly weak, the bar slipped down to fingers on 4th and last rep, basically was struggling with the bar on the fingers thus forgetting to breath and lockout properly; 4) Hips was low, should have raised it up by 3-4 inches?;

Please advises, thanks in advance guys, I’m new and confused lifter :slight_smile:

You need to get some flat soled shoes or pull barefoot for starters. Your butt is the first thing that shoots up which means your not pushing your heals into the ground and your not loading your hamstrings with tension. you need to get behind the bar more. Your shoulders are in front of the bar on the bottom of the lift which is causing the bar to not move in a straight line. start with the bar closer to your shins. And stay tight everywhere. Take a big breath and hold it till lockout.

Watch where you’re looking while you lift. Your head is pointed straight ahead (presumably at the mirror), causing poor neck alignment. Try to lift while keeping a neutral upper spine alignment (i.e., by trying to keep your chin tucked in towards your chest). I’ve found that this also helps eliminate the rounding of the lumbar spine, as it allows one to stay tighter by focusing more on keeping a straight spine.

Best of luck!

[quote]tazui1982 wrote:
4) Hips was low, should have raised it up by 3-4 inches?;
[/quote]

I have a similiar problem, man. But if I start with my hips higher, I find myself locking my knees out too early, when the bar is maybe haging around half of my thigh, which makes me “stiff leg” the bar.

Could anyone give some input regarding what I could do to ease up this problem? This usually happens when I’m around my 1RM and wearing a belt.

Thanks in advance.

[quote]Brant2 wrote:

[quote]tazui1982 wrote: