Critique Deadlift Form

I was wondering if some of the powerlifting gurus out there could tell me what I am doing right and wrong.

http://65.182.219.254/strongman/MVI_1116.AVI

I pulled 405LB (raw) this day…I was hoping for more, but I didn’t give myself a rest before attempting 1RM day.

I did manage to bench 275 (raw), but got crushed when I attempted 405 squats.

Anyway, thanks for the feedback.

I’m far from an expert, but the biggest thing that I see is the start of your pull. You seem to dip and jerk up right away to start the lift.

You’re body looks loose and it’s dangerous to have your body that loose. You should try to stay tighter to start your lift.

Get in the starting position, tighten your upper body, and begin to pull upwards with about 100lbs of pull; not enough to actually start lifting the weight, but enough to keep your body tight.

Also, it looks like you roll the bar back to you a couple of inches right before you begin pulling. Was that intentional?

Otherwise it looks pretty good and speed looks decent. Keep pulling. Oh – what’s up with the gloves?

Good luck,
Toddy

I guess you didn’t get any feedback earlier, so I’ll say a thing or two that I noticed (no expert, mind you).

You might be able to bring your hands in straight down from your shoulders to minimize some of the distance.

Also, it looks like you stay in the down position a bit long. I think you are losing the “stretch reflex” there.

One last thing, personally I think you might have jerked on it a bit much at the beginning. Maybe you could work on powering it up more smoothly instead of jerking it for the starting inches?

Again, I’m no expert on form, just some suggestions.

Matt