T Nation

Criticism of Registered Dietitians

I have been a T-mag reader since 1999. As of late, I must say, I am starting to get somewhat insulted from the statements that have been given on this website about registered dietitians. I am currently a graduate student in exercise physiology and nutrition and a dietetic intern.

First there was the statement in an interview done with Dr. Berardi in which Chris Shugart and he stated that many dietitians come across as blooming idiots. And naturally, being the position I am in and my future profession, I posted with my feelings and grievances with these two men's statements and Dr. Berardi actually publicly corresponded with me on the forum and said some kind words about my intentions for my profession and what it is that I do.

After all, Dr. Berardi is one of my personal role models despite the fact that I do not know the man.

Then there was also the statements in that particular thread in which another T-Nation forum member stated, and I am going on memory here, something along the lines of us dietitians having to be "professionals" or something along the lines of them not being professionals. This was all very humorous to someone such as myself, considering that although dietitians are not the most valuable workers in hospital, compared to surgeons and even nurses per se, they are still valuable professionals.

Did anyone on this board ever accompany a registered dietitian throughout their work day in a hospital or better yet, a nursing home where they are actually of high value and get paid a decent salary. Or better yet, why don't you visit them where they are more valuable and get paid even larger salaries.