T Nation

Creating My Own Program?

hey guys! Im relatively new to weight lifting (been taking this seriously for 6 months) and i wanted your opinions on how to make your own program. For the time being i am on a strength program that i found and that lots of people recommend for begginers but after this i won’t always be able to find good, tested programs and cant stick to one program forever. So i want to ask you if there are any cues and tips that you can give me, i want to make a bodybuilding push-pull-legs program and a fullbody-ish strength program. Thanks in advance, every answer is appreciated!

Why not?

And this

Are generally not very compatible.

There are plenty of very good, proven programs that fit your requirements. Why not find and use those?

Also

Why not?

I’d suggest reading the articles posted on T-nation as a weekly ritual. You’ll learn enough to write your own programs.

When I was a dumb kid I did the same program for six years and got big enough for women to forgive me for my personality and bullies to leave me alone. How big do you want to get?

But if I have any rule, it is balance. Squats and dead lifts balance each other (but I don’t usually do them on the same day). Your pressing exercises must be balanced with pulling along the same plane of motion. You should do good mornings for your lower back and some ab exercises so they can work together well, too.

Make an effort to read around the website. LOaads here:

what are you refering to?

I know there are and i will do just that, im thinking about later in the future, i want to be independent, not rely on somebody else for my program, plus, if i know what makes a program good then i will know why the program i am doing is good and be able to personalise it if necessary (ex. more rear delt exercises if i’m constantly hunched, without putting in too much volume)

Thank you, i’ll probably do just that!