T Nation

Creatine & Protein After Running

I lift two days then run (slowly, for about 45 minutes) then repeat. A guy at the gym the other day recommended that I drink a protein shake with creatine on my running days to help preserve muscle. I have a protein + creatine shake after I lift, but didn't think it would be useful after running. Views/recommendations? Is there utility to protein and creatine after running?

stop running. make you weak. bad.

based on what I've read, and i'm an old fat guy so i'm no expert in periworkout nutrition, I don't see the bonus to triggering an insulin spike after running like you want to after lifting. however, I have noticed that shelby starnes and other bodybuilding coaches recommend higher protein and fewer carbs on "cardio days".

Makes sense to eat more protein in general on a day you will run, but the point would be to keep your protein high to minimize catabolism from the hideous, horrible, muscle-wasting, testosterone sucking evil that is running. so instead of a post workout shake, I'd just make sure you are taking in more protein at each meal on the day, both before and after running. But, this is all guesswork on my part. you might want to go over to Christian Thiboslabospankodeau's threads and ask him. or even Shugart.

old lardass

OL: Please don't mince your words...how do you really feel about running?

I've noticed something interesting. I've run for years -- not long distance/endurance running, just steady jogging for 45 minutes or so. I started lifting about two years ago. I notice now that I hurt after I run -- not where you'd think -- in the legs or whatever, but in my shoulders, arms. But I never hurt after I lift -- pleasant post-workout muscle growing ache, sure, but not pain.

I I'm wondering if the issue is simply age -- although it's not my joints that hurt after running. The thing is I really enjoy running, and it mentally feels great afterwards (and I don't get the same mental boost from lifteing).