T Nation

Creatine for a 16 Year Old?

Hey guys

I'm 16 and was wondering what your thoughts were on whether should take creatine? My diet is solid, has been for about a year, I'm about to start the WS4SB so my programme is good too (i have previously been training for over a year though, so not a complete newbie).

Do you think it's worth me taking creatine? Some of my friends have used it (16yrs old too), they don't seem to have any negative side effects, only good gains. But looking around on the internet, it seems forbidden for under 18's. So i'm unsure of what to do. Thanks for any help.

Andrew

You get Creatine from fish and meat too! Is that forbidden for under 18’s?

The warning label on Creatine says it should not be used by children. That DOES NOT apply to you. Before starting this tread, you should have read the Creatine label in the Biotest Store.

LR

Some one in my gym at 17 asked me this same question last week.

I said to him: “Get your training right and keep eating tons of food; as much healthy food as you can, and tap out your current genetic potential. It won’t kill you to take creatine at a young age, but you might want to get to the point where you might “need” it instead of taking it for the sake of taking it.”

It’s good, cheap stuff…but push yourself for a while (with nutrition and training) before you add supplements.

[quote]tinny93 wrote:
My diet is solid, has been for about a year[/quote]

What, specifically, did you eat yesterday?

In the past year, how much have your squat, deadlift, flat bench, overhead press, barbell row, and pull-ups improved?

Generally (without knowing the answers to the above questions), no, I don’t. I agree with B rock that there’s nothing “wrong” with you taking creatine, but it’s most likely unnecessary right now.

Do you sleep eight hours each night? Do you eat breakfast seven days a week? What are your training goals? Can you explain how creatine would get you closer to your goals?