T Nation

Crash's Training Log

Name: Rob
Height: 5' 11"
Weight: 70KG - 155 Lbs
BMR: 1795
Daily calories to maintain weight: 2783
Body fat %: Probably about 10% give or take 2% (probably give). I will find out properly ASAP.

So to give a bit of a back story, my mate Dave (username: Oregand) slowly converted me to the ways of Weightlifting. I am one of those High-Metabolism/finds it hard to gain weight type of people.

I read Jim Wendlers 5/3/1 and really enjoyed that book. I have just started my second cycle of the program, however, I have decided to stop and concentrate on more volume based lifting so I can develop a good -base strength- as I know as a beginner I have a big potential and opportunity to make some decent gains in the first while. Basically, High weight for high reps.

So what I am doing instead is actually closely following the 5/3/1 program but with a few adjustments and when I get a big of base strength up I will switch back to 5/3/1.

At the moment the only differences I have made are:

• All reps for main lifts for every week will be 3 set of 5 but still doing as many as I can for the last set.
  • I plan to try adding weight every week as opposed to every month.
  • I have taken out the percentages.

I will post the 1st cycle I did on the program and then post the new version which I have only started this week.

Warm up consists of:
Roll-over to Vs
Climbers
Groiners
Dislocates
Leg Stretching

I also do warm up sets for the main lifts:
1 set 8 with just barbell
1 set 5 with half of what I am going to lift
1 set 5 at 3 quarters of what I�¢??m going to lift.

I will add what assistance work I did on the -new program- post as they are the exact same as what I did for 5/3/1.

Edit: 6/25/2011 - I am now including Bar weight for every post after this date.

1st cycle.

Monday
Bench Press - Actual 1RM = 20kg ------ 5/3/1 1RM = 18KG
Warm up

I am missing my record for week one.

Week 2
12.6 KG 70%
14.4KG 80%
16.2KG 90%

Week3
75% - 13.5KG
85% - 15.3KG