Cramps in Squatting Muscles

I’ve been training for about 5 months.
I did basically 5x5 - Squat, 5x5 - RDL for the first time in my life, increasing the weight from probably about 30% until I hit probably about 85-95% max.

I’ve got cramps in pretty much all the squatting muscles. First, after getting out of the gym I got cramps in my lower legs, so I sit down for a while, basically pushing the toes/leg opposite way so the pain would go away. That went away.

Next, when I get home, I go and lay/stretch on the floor and my upper back starts to cramp. Fine, that’s gone now. And the last problem, is that I contracted the Quads and they’re also cramped, and can’t really walk.
I would like to know how to make them go away. This is the first time I went this heavy, and I understand it’s the reason.

After this long and boring introduction I finally ask the question:
What can I do with my training and nutrition to make them go away? I love going heavy(for me) and don’t want to stop it.

This could be 100% coincidental and/or psychosomatic but I’ve noticed a definite reduction in cramping incidents since upping my calorie intake, and for that matter I noticed a definite increase of incidents when eating a lot less.

Its most likely just the new stimulus and you worked HARD!!

Other then that things to look at, proper hydration and your electrlytes (potassium and sodium)

Phill

Thanks for the tips guys. Well, you know, given the CRAZY temperatures these days, it is possible that I may be dehydrated…
As for total calories, well, I should see if they affect me pretty soon…

First thing that came to my mind is that you may want to try stretching after your workouts.

[quote]Ipsum wrote:
First thing that came to my mind is that you may want to try stretching after your workouts.[/quote]

OR even before them if you aren’t already.