T Nation

CPT Study Materials/Exam

I'm still pretty new to this site, and I'm basically reasking a question I posted elsewhere.

I am looking into the CPT cert. from the NSCA. They offer a variety of study materials and I'm curious as to which would most adequately prepare me for the exam. There is the "Essentials of Personal Training" textbook and the CPT study package.

I've been training for about 10 years and have a very good knowledge of both the weightroom (exercises, techniques, etc.) and the body (biology, nutrition, etc.). How long do you think it would take to prepare for the exam? A person from the NSCA told me that I should expect about 4-6 months of study time.
Also, I have a degree in literature, which means I'm very good at self-study and memorization. Would that help with the preparation of the exam?

at least 6 mos.
"essentials..." is the text for that exam and you will need to have a firm grasp of all the material covered. I recomend reading it no less than twice, unless your a sports medicine doctor or a cscs. good luck, you are setting yourself apart by joining the NSCA

Thanks for the info. I can handle six months...at least that will give me enough time to make the money back that I'm going to spend on the materials/test.

My trainer is certified through the AFAA, and he has been insisting that I get my certification through them as he is "not familiar" with the NSCA and that the AFAA has been around such a long time. Any thoughts?

AFAA is a joke, in my opinion. If your trainer is "not familiar" with the NSCA then something is seriously wrong with that picture. The NSCA and ACSM set the bar when it comes to personal training.

Right on, thanks.