COVID19: Perspective From A (Sort Of...) Expert-Adjacent Person

OK folks. I have been posting less here even before this blew up (fatherhood and increasing work responsibilities; basically all I’ve been doing lately is posting in my training log) and work has been extra nuts for reasons I’ll explain shortly. But, I decided that I should probably post something here about what’s going on from my perspective.

My bona fides: I have a bachelor’s degree in statistics, a Master’s degree in statistics, and a doctoral degree in epidemiology. I have been on faculty in the School of Medicine for almost seven years, have co-authored over 100 publications in medical journals, and presently work as a statistician on seven randomized controlled trials (across several different medical specialties). I do not work directly on outbreak investigations or infectious diseases, but do work with/on a lot of intensive-care and critical-care studies (where many COVID-19 patients are going to end up once they develop acute respiratory distress syndrome) and have graduate-school friends that work for the government on infectious disease epidemiology.

So, basically, I’m not directly an expert on COVID19 virology or epidemiology, but I’m about as informed of a layperson as can be in this situation. In this thread I will try to discuss what we know about the disease so far and its effects on our health system(s) to the extent that I can. I will not discuss economics, government, or social issues unless they have a direct impact on a relevant tangent. I can’t stop people from doing that, of course, but simply commenting that it is very far outside my expertise and probably best reserved for the other thread if we want to keep this a cleaner sheet of “what do we know about this disease, its spread, treatment, and prognosis of patients as well as health systems” which is probably the best use of this thread.

To be continued…

16 Likes

Very much looking forward to following along.