T Nation

Couple of Questions

I’m kinda new to bodybuilding/strength training and got a couple of questions.

I bought a Bowflex and was wondering if any of you have ever used it and if any one has a really good work out that works.

Also, I’ve heard lots of “advice” from the average guys in the gym. I want to get advice from you guys that actually works in regards to techniques, exercises, and supplements.

I took creatine last year for about 2 or 3 months. I exploded in mass, but saw in dramatic gains in strength. I take whey (about 30 grams) 3 times a day and try to eat as much chicken, fish, and steak as possible to get some extra protien.

My main limiter is that I’m in the Air Force and can’t take some of the stuff the rest of you can, far as supplements. My bench is only 160 (go ahead and laugh, I know it’s sad) and my goal by Christmas is as close to 250-300 as possible.

Any suggestions?

Return the bowflex.

Read “Program Design 101” by Mike Robertson it covers the baisic ideas of weight training programs. Vroom has a post that is kind of a guide to this site for beginners. That article should make it easier for you to understand some of the other articles on this site

Thats about it read and learn the baisics and you can post questions about the stuff you read on the forums.

I agree return the bowflex and read these articles.
The Periodization Bible by Dave Tate
and the The Periodization Bible ? Part II and the program design 101.

check out elitefts.com for equipment

Good Luck!

Heh, to save you the searching…

http://www.t-nation.com/readTopic.do?id=550116

Remember that just about anything you do when you are just starting out will lead to dramatic gains – and you probably wouldn’t need much by way of supplements at that time either.

Anyway, follow the link above and read up on some good programs. Pick something with heavy compound lifts like deads, squats, chins, dips and benches.