T Nation

Count As Cardio?

Hey Guys, i’ve ask this several times but never really got a good answer.

Im workong on getting some abs yet I gotta lose the fat round em first. I know you gotta do cardio to lose the BF so do you think spending 4 hours in the back of a semi trailer 5 days a week loading boxes in 100+ degree heat would count as a cardio workout? I pretty much lift anywhere from 1 to 80 pounds (80-120LBS w/ 2 people) up to 9 feet high. I load bout 4-500 boxes in one hour so im constantly bending over then lefting with legs.

Or should I pursue running with my workouts. I just got a busy schedule so im trying to fit everything in.

Thanks

I would say to go ahead and count that as your cardio.

[quote]highrider wrote:
… do you think spending 4 hours in the back of a semi trailer 5 days a week loading boxes in 100+ degree heat would count as a cardio workout? … from 1 to 80 pounds… up to 9 feet high… bout 4-500 boxes in one hour…[/quote]

Um, yeah.

Interesting… I work as a Server at Rubys diner. In any given shift I spend about 3 - 4 hours walking around. I usually count that as my calories burned by cardio. It really is A LOT of walking… tip your servers well folks, we bust our asses.

[quote]Lonnie123 wrote:
Interesting… I work as a Server at Rubys diner. In any given shift I spend about 3 - 4 hours walking around. I usually count that as my calories burned by cardio. It really is A LOT of walking… tip your servers well folks, we bust our asses.[/quote]

True, true.

Thanks guys, just wasnt sure. Im trying to lose my somewhat gut here and didnt know if it’d be a overkill doing HIT or not

Does your heart rate average about 60% of your max beats per minute?

[quote]highrider wrote:

I pretty much lift anywhere from 1 to 80 pounds (80-120LBS w/ 2 people) up to 9 feet high. I load bout 4-500 boxes in one hour so im constantly bending over then lefting with legs.

[/quote]