CoreBen's Log

Hi, been a long time reader of the forums and articles. I’ve finally decided to pick up working out again after a year break and take it as seriously as I’ve ever done. My background is I’m ectomorph.

Height: 6’0
Weight: 141
Body fat %: Its been awhile but definetly below 10%. Definetly not a fat-skinny guy(a skinny-skinny guy with decent muscle tone because its easy to see due to lack of body mass) but I can upload pictures later on to get a better idea if needed.

I worked out really hard for around a year and half but after reading up I was overtraining. I had the faulty mindset the more I do the more Id gain. Even though I really overtrained I still gained 15 lbs then school came began to interfere with the routine (lost my workout partner) and eventually it fizzled out. I know Im now mentally ready to start up again and actually do it the right way.

I’m here to get feedback because I want to get the most constructive criticism possible to better myself. I really dont want to make excuses for lack of gains because “I have a high metabolism” etc. Im looking to put in the hard work to gain the weight and eating 2-3 times more than Im doing now (as clean as possible). I made the thread so that I can get a good routine and to keep a log so that I will not waver from it.

I was wondering in my situation would it be better to follow Rippetoe’s or WSFSBs. I’ve been leaning towards West Side but dont know if its the best fit for me. Im looking for size gains mostly with strength gains coupled with it.

Also does anyone have a good bulking meal ideas for a college budget in mind. It seems that eating is the biggest part of working out in my physique situation and want to get the best information possible. Thanks for the responses.

ripps for a few months. Switch to wsfsb after that. I’m assuming you aren’t an athlete so you might want to try a layout like:

Max effort upper body:
-Bench press variation
-incline DB
SUPERSET