Core Workout

hey im new to the forums here at T-Nation but ive been lifting for a few years but ive finally decided to add a core workout day to my lifting week. i was wondering if you guys could tell me some workouts to do and if you could post some pictures of the exercises. any help would be appreciated.

I second the request. It’s always nice to add new exercises to the repertoire. I have a few moves I use on my once a week core day. Not sure if they actually qualify as “core” movements, but they are compound movements and help mix up the routine a bit.

#1 I have an inch and a half braided rope that I throw over my pull up bar and hold each end, suspending myself off the ground and sea-saw back and forth. VERY difficult, works forearm, back, shoulder?. everything but legs it seems.

#2 Another one is called planks something or other (forgot the real term). Take 2 hex head dumbbells (like 10 pounders) and set them on end next to each other. Now like you are going to do a push up, grab each DB at the grip area but keep you grip high. So now your forearms are parallel to the ground as is your body. Now life yourself up?.you?ll be working triceps and every muscle from your neck down. It really tights up the core, at least for me.

#3 I?m having a set of farmers walk bards made at a local metal fab shop. Not sure if this is a core exercise, but I like it for more overall body work.

#4 Wood chop. Put the triceps rope on the upper pully. Now turn so your back is to the pully, grab the rope that is behind you, get to your knees and pull to the floor like you?re chopping wood. Real wood chopping is even better.

I think I did a terrible job describing. Can anyone help out with pics?

If you’re doing squats, deadlifts, maybe some hang cleans, then you’re doing core work.

Sometimes, people get in the mindset that you have to isolate muscles for them to be worked.

The function of the “core” is to stabilize our body, and well that’s accomplished a lot with free weights.