Core Training for Hockey

anyone know what excercises i do for core training for hockey that i could do on daily basis’s to improve my hockey preformace on the ice?

[quote]Landry91 wrote:
anyone know what excercises i do for core training for hockey that i could do on daily basis’s to improve my hockey preformace on the ice?[/quote]

Stiff-Legged Deadlifts
Sumo Deadlifts
Roman Chair Hyperextensions
Roman Chair Reverse Hyperextensions
Oblique Crunch

Try those. 3x 10

What kind of performance help are you looking for? Shooting, skating speed, checking?

Christian Thibaudeau addressed a similar question regarding ab training for athletes in this thread:

http://t-nation.com/readTopic.do?id=693846

Personally – and I’m no expert – I don’t stress the direct ab work too much even in the off season. Squats and deads seem to go a long way for me in working the core, as do overhead presses. But I do some direct work usually twice weekly after workouts. Anyway I hope that helps.

[quote]Landry91 wrote:
anyone know what excercises i do for core training for hockey that i could do on daily basis’s to improve my hockey preformace on the ice?[/quote]

Rather than recommend specfic exercises I would say take a look at Michael Boyles "functional training for sports" book and/or torso training videos that are available from performbetter.com . Mr.Boyle has coached the bruins,boston university as well as the us womens national/olympic hockey teams. His programs have helped me immeasurably in both my playing performance and coaching in hockey. One other thing you should look at if you want to improve your game is an article on Mr. boyle`s web site michaelboyle.biz called “From the ice up” that can form the basis of your entire program. good luck gymrat

well im more of a hitter if anythign im 5"9 205 with a body fat of 14% , some of my numbers are Bench- 405 1RM