Cop Bashing

i thought i would start a thread in reference to some statements made by others about the failings of law enforcement in this county.

i have been a police officer since 2002, and by no means am an expert in all things in criminal investigation.

However, there seems to be an increasinly critical eye of how LEO perfrom their duties, especially from those who have never done the job.

i know there are some people of different races that state they have been harrassed based off of their race. this may or may not be true…in the city i work, we are required to give a “dispostition code” after each interaction with the public, based off of their race, age and gender. if a complaint arises, then our internal affairs division can check the calls that we went on and verify our intereaction with the public.

and thoses of us that work in areas with a high population of minorities are simply going to interact with more people of certain minorities, simply based off of the population.

unless there is a call for service, LEO’s need to have probable cause to initiate a traffic stop or stop someone walking on the sidewalk. now if i see a car pull up to a known drug house for a brief period, see someone walk out to the driver and walk away, i have probable cause to stop that car. if you want to know why you were stopped-ask. i always explain why i stopped someone, and rarely have any issues.