Controlling Stress-Related Cortisol

Hello Christian
What nutritional approach would would you suggest for someone who trains, but has an erratic work schedule and a stressful job? I just finished working around the clock (literally). Because I’m self-employed, it is sometimes necessary to work crazy hours. So after a regular 8 hour ‘shift’ I trained from 9:00 pm to 10:30 pm, then went home and continued on a job (I’m a freelancer). I just finished up and it’s 3 pm the next day. I realize that this lifestyle is not conducive to making gains in the gym, and thankfully this only happens once in a while. But if you have any tips to minimize the negative effects, or keep my training from being a total waste of time (or even a net negative) it would be appreciated.

I’m sure there must be other guys out there (with new babies for example) who are having sleep disruption, or working crazy stressful hours while trying to make progress in the gym.

On a related note, I’ve been having trouble falling asleep in general. Sometimes when I should be drifting off, instead my mind starts racing, and I find myself thinking about things that make me angry and agitated. To me, it seems like the ‘fight or flight’ reaction kicking in at an inappropriate time. So I wonder if I am having some general cortisol issues even when I’m on a ‘normal’ schedule. This could very well be a separate issue though.

I’m 48 years old and train about 8 hours a week on a split routine, so there’s nothing excessive as far as my training schedule. I shifted over to a medium-low carb diet about 9 months ago (50-100/day) and I look and feel much better… I think I was possibly pre-diabetic (high carbs make me stupid and drowsy, even first thing in the morning).

I hope this question makes sense. Thank you for your time!

[quote]K2000 wrote:
Hello Christian