Consuming Coconut

How are you guys consuming coconut (or coconut oil)? I tried having some coconut oil straight from the bottle and man, that stuff tastes like crap compared to olive oil hands down.

Just wondering what form did people find most palatable - dried/grated coconut, coconut oil, coconut milk?

Thanks.

Well, from what I understand, unless you want the carbs that come with the milk you should stick with the oil. I actually bought some today for the first time and tried it straight from the jar and it wasn’t to bad.

The kind I got (Emerald labs virgin organic)didn’t taste as much like coconut as I thought it would but it didn’t taste bad. Hard to get over the thought of eating a spoonfull of solid fat though. It kind of melts in your mouth.

I am by no means an expert and would like to hear some suggestions on different ways to consume the oil myself.

What I do is pour the require amount of coconut oil into a small tupperware. I then add a tablespoon of Davinci sugarfree syrup of my choice, then put it in the freezer.

Comes out very tasty and easily portable.

Capsules…Only way I’ve ever taken it. Though here soon I may get some of the oil to mix with my shakes…Always up for something new hehe.

First, make sure it’s a high quality coconut oil - do some research online.

I find coconut oil mixed with a really nice olive oil tastes fabulous. You might need to melt it, but yum… just pour the mixture over your meal - it’ll make anything taste better.

You can also use it on bread or toast, the way you would butter.

I personally grind unsweetened, desiccated coconut with flax seed and add it to main dishes - you can use it as a thickener. Try adding desiccated coconut to oatmeal (you’ll need to add more water too - or more coconut oil!).

Also - try this for post-workout recovery:

mix desiccated coconut with raw honey and coconut oil. you can also add some salt and a bit of cinnamon - tastes great!