Conquering the 5-Minute Mile

By no means am I a body-builder, power-lifter, cross-fitter, or marathon man. I am a recent university graduate, competitive rugby player, and exercise enthusiast. Last fall I sustained two gnarly concussions which forced me off the field and out of the gym for months. I am only now back into a structured training routine. I want to continue building explosive strength through resistance training (shout out to Wendler and his 5-3-1 programming) but have an aerobic goal in mind as well. I want to run a 5-minute mile. I am not going to stop weight-training and no program I can find suggests or encourages high-intensity resistance work while training for a 5-minute mile.

Does anyone know of any resources (articles, programs, or whatever) that can suggest a program structure appropriate for these goals? I currently train 5-6 days/week. I have 4 dedicated weight-lifting days, and on two of these days I perform AM/PM 2-a-days where the second workout is either a windgate interval session or continuous aerobic session.

Any help and advice would be appreciated.

Ask Alpha for ideas in his log -now does strongman but trained has for pretty crazy SF selection/running tests while continuing to lift heavy…

What’s your mile time right now?

I would say a 5 minute mile is like a 500lb squat or 600lb DL. It’s going to take a tremendous amount of training and discipline, especially as an adult (as opposed to a HS or Collegiate runner).

That being said, next June I’m going to try to run a sub-45 minute 10k and DL 450 lbs on the same day (my 45th B-day) so I wish you nothing but luck.

Funny, I had a track coach who had a goal of running a marathon and benching some amount of weight in the same day. Maybe it was 315 he wanted to bench. I never found out if he did it.