Conjugate: How Many ME Sets?

Hi guys,

I recently started training conjugate/massthetics style and I’d like to know something.

I use to do A LOT of sets on ME day.

Today I went to a 1rm on Conv. DL with bands and it looked like this (approx.)

50kgs x 10
add bands
50 kgs x 5
80 x 5
100 x 3
120 x 3
140 x 3
150 x 1
160 x 1
170 x 1
180 fail
175 x 1
backoff sets
130 x 3 x 3

I like to do backoff sets so think I did too many steps before attempting my heaviest single.

Warming up (mobility etc… ) + getting to this 1rm almost took an hour… I don’t and I can’t do too long workouts and I don’t wanna minimize assistance work, so is only doing 6-7 total sets with warm up sets to the 1rm a problem ?
I’ve always read like ME days should be 8-12 total sets.

It can be as many sets as you need to warm up for a max attempt. There’s no hard rule.

2 Likes

It sounds like you are spending too much time on whatever mobility work you are doing. You can also make bigger jumps between warm up sets until you get closer to whatever you expect to hit that day.

Yeah 7 sets is ok, also consider just taking 2 min breaks between sets and then add extra min before heaviest sets. -Yeah top weight will be down for few weeks but after that you will adapt and work capcity will be slightly improved

That is a lot of sets compared to the examples I’ve seen in the literature about Westside BB.

Typically, you start with the bar and make very big jumps. Then around 50%, you start taking 10% jumps. Typically sets of 5. Then around 80%, take a triple. Single at 85%. 88-92% a single (basically a single you could hit even if you got zero sleep and haven’t eaten in many hours), then another single at 94-97%, then if you have it in you, go for 98-105% depending on how you feel.

That’s not hard set in stone and percentages are just recommendations and can change depending on how you feel, but I think it would be a good starting point. Make gradual adjustments either up or down on the warm up volume.