T Nation

Confusion 101

Hey everybody,

I’m new here and I’ve been lurking around and reading posts for a month or so now.

I’m 22, 5-11, weigh 187 naked before breakfast… When I started training last year in November I weighed 182. Honestly I don’t remember my initial body mass index but I remember it was high and I was shocked. I think it was 25% and then went down to 23 or so.

I got a membership with this great private gym in my area. I couldn’t afford a trainer but I had orientation with one who helped me out with creating a training program. Four months into training… went to the gym one day and lo and behold a fed ex box was on the ground and no one was around. I found out later the owner decided he could make more money by selling the property and taking the gym down. Bastard.

I started with warming up on a treadmill to get my heart rate up. He said there’s a lactic acid threshold and I need to train just below that to maximize using fat stores for energy instead of just using up all my glycogen.

I’m confused, don’t I need to have low glycogen so my body can make filling those reserves a priority? Wouldn’t my insulin start to break down fat and turn it into glucose and store it in my muscle as opposed to covering my abs (which I had as a teenager, six pack! wtf happened I don’t know)?

Anyway, then I would warm up my hips on a swiss ball, which looked strange but helped me out in more ways than one.

Then:
Alternative leg lifting on swiss ball (which I sucked at) for stability

Circuit of 3 sets at 8-12 reps of each w/ 60 sec rest:

Iso Incline Press for chest
Reverse step-up for quads
Iso Hi Row for back
Single stiff leg deadlift for hamstrings

For arms:
Curls w/ a roto bar for biceps
Standing overhead tri somethingorother for triceps (that was fun)

lateral raise and shoulder press for shoulders

Core:
Swiss ball crunches
Alt X-man (hard but fun)
Plank (fight the gravity!)