T Nation

Confused About Training to Failure

Okay, this is gonna be one of the MOST basic of questions, but it's always been something that I've been uncertain of. It's regarding sets and reps. Say I wanted to do 3 sets of 10 reps with a certain weight, taking the last set to failure- what exactly do I do??

• Do I take one weight with which I can do 10 reps on my first 2 sets (stopping at 10 even if I can do more,) but which I fail at around the 10th rep on only the last set?
  • Do I select a weight with which I will fail at around 8-10 reps on all 3 sets?
  • Do I change weights between sets, making me fail at around 8-10 reps on all 3 sets?
    Yes, I know, total beginner question, but it confuses me sometimes...

I'm a beginner too but I would interpret that particular set/rep scheme the first way, using the same weight for all three sets, having selected a weight that will cause you to fail or approach failure on the last rep of the third set. You would probably not be at failure at the end of each of the first two sets.

This.

You can do it any way you like, there's really no "rules", but what I would recommend if someone was looking at "3x10" is to do 3 progressively heavier sets until your third set is the heaviest weight you can handle for around 10 reps (6-10).

For example, if you were going to bench press 200lbs, 3x10, I personally would do it like this:

100lbs x 10 (not to failure, warming up the muscles)
150lbs x 10 (not to failure, only a little challenging)
200lbs x 6-10 (to failure, if you get less than 10, come back to that weight next week, if you get 10 or more, move up in weight for next week).