Confused About GI Scale

This morning for breakfast I had a peach, a small ammount of oatmeal (probably instant, no flavoring) and one hard boiled egg. Then about a hour and a half later I suddenly felt totally exhausted. It was like a blood sugar thing, but that makes no sene because I think my bfast was all low GI, and probabaly didn’t create any kind of insulin spike…

OK seciond question… someone on this site made a comment about how whole milk causes insulin to spike, but then I found a chart with low GI foods that listed whole milk.

I am obviously no chemist. These concepts are relatively new to me. I know there’s something important I am missing here. Any one care to take a stab?

Im not an expert either, maybe Barr can chime in. However, its my understanding that milk is a low on the GI index, but VERY insulinogentic. I don’t really know anymore, sorry. lol.

I am far from sciency but from what I remember, and I forget where I read it, but I beleive it has something to do with the lactate (sp?) in the milk. So even though on the GI scale its low, on the II (Insulin Index I beleive) scale, it is very high. But other dairy product like cheese don’t have the same insulin response.

The GI is fairly accurate most of the time but it measures a precursor or a chemical that happens alongside a insulin spike usually. Whereas the II measures the actual insulin response, so even tho milk doesnt get a high score on the GI it does spike insulin.

I’m sure someone much more knowledgeable than me can get into the gritty science of it a LOT better than me, but thats what I recall.

well thanks for the reply anyhow, gents. I hope I don’t have some messed up blood sugar problem

[quote]force of one wrote:
a peach, a small ammount of oatmeal (probably instant, no flavoring) and one hard boiled egg[/quote]

That’s a tiny breakfast.

It’s likely that you just didn’t eat enough. Instead of overcomplicating things, why not just try eating more?

[quote]ChrisKing wrote: