Conflicting messages

I need help from those who have first hand experience, all you rugby players: I play tight head prop, and right now I’m about 200 pounds at around 10% BF. However, my midsection is a little too soft for me, and I feel that I am moving slower than I should be on the field. I am already in better shape then the other props except for one guy, but I feel I could drop another ten pounds and be much faster. Anyways to the question, for a prop is it more important to be lean and strong or to carry some extra weight around to throw the extra weight around in a game? Right now I’m doing a Berardi-style Don’t Diet along with a four week base-strength-power peak strength program and extensive long and short distance sprints interval training five days a week. Thanks y’all, btw I am a total newbie to rugby so I really am starting from square one.

I played for 8 years for a mens club and 3 yrs. in college. Mostly as a wing forward, so I played close to the props. They come in all shapes and sizes but the most effective I saw were built low to the ground and had a few extra pounds on them. Powerful legs, back and arms would serve a prop well. Build your endurance with the sprints, speed is good in rugby but not many props I played with were real burners, quick yes but not much past 10 yds. Most of the props I played with were closer to 20%BF so you should be able to use your endurance to your advantage. It’s a great game, you’ll love it. I play in the old boys games now (35+) “old age and treacheory vs. youth and speed”.

Most prop are fatties, i hook, and my brother props. We have been far more successful at ANY bodywieght by conditioning harder than everyone else. If you start by adding jump roping and GPP to your workouts the belly will dissapear and your fitness will help you tremendously, but i wouldnt suggest dieting, let teh exercise remove fat, and eat a lot of clean food.