Conflicting Goals, New Pusuits

I'm 33 so I figured I'd go ahead and introduce myself on this forum.  I've been lifting for 17 years and though I've had success I know I have overtrained a lot in the past.  
I have recently taken interest in increasing my squat and vertical jump to see if I can get to where I can dunk a basketball proficiently. I only need to add a couple of inches because I can now dunk sort of; ie. exceptionally good day, rim a couple inches low etc. Conversly I also LOVE mountainbiking.  I am pulling my legs (pardon the pun) in opposite directions int terms of performance.  I obsess over things like things and am constantly reading the plethora of training information on the net to the point that I am getting burned out.  
Mountainbike rides will last anywhere from 1.5-2+ hours and I usually ride with a group.  This is a social event for me as well since I'm single and and don't do much else as far as hobbies.  I know to maximize my vert jump/squat training I should cut back on the longer duration cardio (mountainbiking) but when my friends call to go for a ride on a nice Saturday there is no way in hell I'm saying no.  And the terrain here is hilly so there are only moderate and hard rides.  No such thing as easy rides in West Virginia.  The is also no such thing as a sub 1 hour mtn bike ride.  Not gonna happen....ever.  As I get older I have to take recovery more into consideration.
So what are some of your other activities besides weight training and how do you balance the two?

Most of the folks on the board doing weightlifting and some other activity are using weightlifting to support the other activity.

My opinion is that you’ve already set your priorities as mountain biking and the ability to dunk is a ‘nice-to-have,’ but not critical to your happiness.

Hel320 and Carl Darby are throwers. Both use weight training to help them throw farther and Carl is going to do an Olympic Lifting competition soon, I think.