Conflict of Interest

I’m fairly new to bodybuidling. I’ve only been trainig for a little over two years, but being a hardgainer, I’ve had to bust my ass off to gain whatever I could.

The bigger I get the more effort I need to put into it. And frankly I’m not sure how much bigger I can afford to get.

So I guess my question is: How much do you big dudes train? Spend time on diet, nutrition… etc? How much time do you have left? to do… whatever.

I go to the gym 10 times a week.

Well, actually, as I’ve gotten bigger I’ve found that I spend less time in gym, only because my size is directly related to my knowledge level, and my knowledge has taught me that you don’t need to spend 2-3 hours lifting weights every day like I did when I started.

Anyway, for me personally, I now spend 5 days/week in the gym, at around 90 minutes each.

As for diet/nutrition, once you have the knowledge about what to eat and what not to eat, there isn’t all that much time put into thinking about it, beyond trying to think of new ways to make healthy food taste good so you don’t get sick of the same thing.

I’d say the only additional time that a bodybuilder has to put into diet over Joe Schmoe is that the bodybuilder will typically prepare healthy meals himself, while Mr. Schmoe will drive through McDonalds.

Either way, I don’t think it takes much longer once you know what you’re doing.

So, factoring in 7-8 hours of sleep, 9 hours of work, and 90 minutes of exercise, that leaves me with about 5-6 hours to do “everything else” each day, which I find to be plenty.

Does it take effort and commitment? Sure. Does it have to consume your every waking minute? Absolutely not.

[quote]Bauer97 wrote:
Well, actually, as I’ve gotten bigger I’ve found that I spend less time in gym, only because my size is directly related to my knowledge level, and my knowledge has taught me that you don’t need to spend 2-3 hours lifting weights every day like I did when I started.