T Nation

Conditioning Work & 5-3-1?

Im currentley trying to get ready for a big 4 mile 27 obstacle event in Nov. I've been doing 5-3-1 for about 3 months.
I've recently added in a fullbody crossfit style workout 3 times a week with lots of running. I feel fine so I dont feel over trained. Im just wondering if I should concentrate more on cardio and stuff and ditch the 5-3-1 program while getting ready for the event.

On a side note can 5-3-1 have a arms day if so what would it look like?

Wow, so many odd questions I don't know even know where to start.

1.) You need to train for whatever is most important to you. If I ever did something like that I would probably train very hard for it for about a month, maybe two in terms of cardio and conditioning. There is a chance you will need to take a few extra days off here and there if you're doing intense conditioning work, though. Do NOT stop the program or stop lifting, that makes no sense at all.

2.) It would look like an arm day with any other program, or you can just add tris after your benching or biceps after your back work. There are a lot of threads about arm training and you can find those yourself here or in the T-Cell.

Cut back on how far you push your last sets, cut back/eliminate assistance stuff. Keep doing 5/3/1 and hit conditioning hard. No reason to completely stop lifting.

And, no, I don't think arm day really goes with 5/3/1. You can should definitely incorporate arm work, but it should be assistance. And it doesn't sound like an arm day would help you in an obstacle course anyway.

First your questions:

I compete in similar events and basically use 531 to maintain strength while adding in cardio of some kind.
Arms are assistance in 531 usually, but I suppose if you were doing a spec phase you could use the numbers for some big bang arm exercises like CG bench, barbell curls, dipps, etc. Haven't tried this myself.