T Nation

Conditioning for Rugby

I’m working on my endurance for rugby, especially since I have a 10’s tournament coming up. Where there will be a lot of space.

I have the speed to exploit this space, but without the conditioning I won’t be able to keep it up in the later stages of the competition.

Instead of doing long boring jogs, I’m think about doing sprint intervals.

Anyone got any ideas what to do, 50mx10 with 45secs rest etc, give me your ideas.

Thanks

Watch your recovery capacity. You’re currently in-season so I would imagine just playing and training would just about use it up if you’re doing any sort of weight training at the moment.

Towards the end of off-season is the time to push the envelope in training and conditioning.

You could experiment with supplements. I’m no expert but I believe Glutamine might be useful.

I’m in-season, but this is at college level, not club level.

So every Wednesday we either have training or a game.

Maybe we’ll have extra sessions after christmas and I might join a club team after christmas as well I just don’t want to go from not playing for a while to playing all the time.

Once you re in season, dont do anything too hard if you are playing at a reasonable level. I play RL at uni level and we do team conditioning twice a week once games have started.

Personally, I think the best way to improve conditioning is to play. Nothing beats match fitness.

10’s isnt too demanding, there isnt that much space if you are organized well.

What do yous do for conditioning?

Ye there’s not loads of space in 10’s like there is in 7’s, but there is enough. Run through a couple of men and that’s you gone.

Where do you play league.
I used to travel to York to play.

[quote]OooahhhCANTONA wrote:

Ye there’s not loads of space in 10’s like there is in 7’s, but there is enough. Run through a couple of men and that’s you gone.

I used to travel to York to play.[/quote]