Conditioning for BJJ and Wrestling

Hey guys, I have been training bjj for about 3 months and wrestling for about 1 month. When I am rolling, I want to put a pace on my opponent that he cannot match and so he will eventually run out of energy. I am jogging/sprinting everyday for about 12 minutes at a high intensity (near my max heart rate) .

But can you guys give me more suggestions on how I can improve my stamina for these 2 sports

Work ethic is great, but if you’re beginning BJJ with the strategy of outworking your opponent, you’re kind of missing the point of BJJ. It’s about working as little as possible. A far less fit but more technical guy will let you tire yourself out every time, no matter how fit you are. I’m not saying you shouldn’t condition, it’s just that I think you should adjust your focus/strategy.

As far as what to do, I think it’s wise to built an aerobic base (longer slower running) as well as incorporating sprints. Body movement stuff, i.e. burpees, bear crawls, and sport specific movement drills would be a good bet as well. Most of all, roll as often as you can, as well as you can. The second an of your GPP training begins to compromise your actual practice quality,it’s time to back off on GPP.

[quote]zakidiaz wrote:
Hey guys, I have been training bjj for about 3 months and wrestling for about 1 month.[/quote]
How often do you have classes each week and how long is each session?

In your thread last month, you didn’t mention anything about martial arts training. That would’ve slightly changed the advice given.

This has as much to do with using proper technique and strategy as it does with your actual conditioning.

Are you still 6’0 and 155 pounds? Running hard like that everyday will burn what little fat you have on you, without significantly improving your conditioning.