Computer Programmers

Hello, any computer programmers here? I’m thinking of a career change and I’m looking into computer programming. Any advice? Experience? What are the most popular computer programming languages out there? Pls any info will help! Thanks!

Yeah Im a programmer. Im not sure what the situation is in Canada but I’d say you’d need a good qualification like a degree in Software Engineering or Computer Science. Experience and some sort of portfolio of your work would be good too. Popular languages are C++, C#, Java, Visual Basic and Delphi. Programming can take years to fully master and too be honest it gets pretty boring at times but the money is usually ok.

What do you work as at the minute?

[quote]comedypedro wrote:
Yeah Im a programmer. Im not sure what the situation is in Canada but I’d say you’d need a good qualification like a degree in Software Engineering or Computer Science. Experience and some sort of portfolio of your work would be good too. Popular languages are C++, C#, Java, Visual Basic and Delphi. Programming can take years to fully master and too be honest it gets pretty boring at times but the money is usually ok.

What do you work as at the minute?[/quote]

Right now, I work for a transportation company. I’m a Team Leader of a 5-man help desk. We support an application called SAP, which manages the Company’s HR, Payroll, Inventory etc…We mostly do functional support (How do we do this? How do we do that? etc )It’s quite fun but I have been there for almost 6 years and I’m kinda bored. I recently applied for a 2nd Level position but I’m lacking on the programming side of things, hence my interest in developing new skills.

Generally speaking, programming is really a very wide area. There is much more to it then just learining a syntax of a particular language. Having a technial degree is a good start, IMO. But, quite surprisngly, people who studied linguistics and such seem to do alright in some aspects of the job.