Compound vs. Isolation

I’m a newbie that’s been reading on this site about the power and importance of the compound movements/Olympic lifts, etc. And I agree with just about everything I’ve read, but something got me to thinking:

I’m a pretty thin guy and I’ve only got one muscle group that generally is as good as anyone in the gym: my chest. I see a lot of the guys that can bench 3X my body weight with a chest that is not nearly as good as mine.

“So what??” you ask. Well, here’s where I’m headed: I have very, very rarely done a bench press. My chest has been entirely built by dumbell flyes if you can believe that.

I also remember a high growth time (for me anyway) with my arms and all I was doing were simple preacher-curl-to-the-forehead-tricep-raises. Those would kill my triceps like no other excercise and I got all my growth out of that.

Anyway, I’m just wondering if anyone else has had a similar experience? Are maybe the isolated movements getting somewhat of a bad rap?

What you’ve basically described is the differenc between powerlifting and bodybuilding. In a simple form-albeit.

Hypertrophy and strength, while not independent of one another, can be specialized in with different forms of training.

Isolation movements can lead to a greater development of size without an appreciable gain in strength. I too have seen the well developed arms and chest of an ectomorph who does nothing but iso’s and lighter weights with higher reps.

There is nothing ‘wrong’ with iso movements. I feel there is even a periodization place in most everyones workout for them. What are your goals? Lift accordingly.

[quote]sasquatch wrote:
What you’ve basically described is the difference between powerlifting and bodybuilding. In a simple form-albeit.

Hypertrophy and strength, while not independent of one another, can be specialized in with different forms of training.