T Nation

Compound Mass Building Routine

I'm in search of a new training program. I am a beginner ( 6 months ) and currently doing a 4 day spilt. I wanna do a mass program with alot of compound exercises. Any ideas? Any thoughts about rippetoe's starting strength?

It’s great and it works. Do it.

[quote]Rico Suave wrote:
It’s great and it works. Do it.[/quote]

x2. Used Starting Strength for 4 months, gained 20 pounds. Very satisfied.

[quote]Kaizen08 wrote:
Rico Suave wrote:

x2. Used Starting Strength for 4 months, gained 20 pounds. Very satisfied.[/quote]

20lbs of WHAT? lol

Why do people always make statements like this that imply the training program is somehow the reason they gained 20lbs?

Starting Strength doesn’t even have “a lot” of compound exercises in it. It’s very minimal.

In my opinion Starting Strength isn’t worth doing.

[quote]mr popular wrote:
Kaizen08 wrote:
Rico Suave wrote:

20lbs of WHAT? lol

Why do people always make statements like this that imply the training program is somehow the reason they gained 20lbs?

Starting Strength doesn’t even have “a lot” of compound exercises in it. It’s very minimal.

In my opinion Starting Strength isn’t worth doing.[/quote]

I’ve gained 25lbs in 3 months, so my routine is better imo.

U have any recommendations Mr. Popular?

U have any recommendations Mr. Popular?

Hey W00tage- care to share that routine?

I would recommend a Pull/Push/Legs/Shoulders routine.

It’s simple, it’s traditional, and it’s gotten countless other people big.

[quote]f-cann96 wrote:
Hey W00tage- care to share that routine?[/quote]

Sure. It’s a 4 day split, I call it Failing Life

Day 1: Carbs
Day 2: Protein
Day 3: Fat
Day 4: Accessory work

you want to keep carbs + fat at least a day apart otherwise you’ll struggle to recover

Day 1:
Baguette Deadlifts
Cornish Pasty Rows

Day 2:
overhead chicken squat